Best French chocolatier awards for 2011

The annual Awards du Chocolat were held yesterday afternoon in Paris at the Salon du Chocolat, which runs until Monday, October 24, 2011.

Organised by Club des Croqueurs de Chocolat, L’Express Styles and Salon du Chocolat, the annual awards are given to the best chocolatiers in France.

The best chocolatiers for 2011 were named as Vincent Guerlais, Sève Chocolatier (Richard Sève), Fabrice Gillotte, Gilles Cresno, Pascal Le Gac, Jean-Paul Hévin, Pierre Hermé, Le Cacaotier (Hubert Masse), Fresson (Franck Fresson), Criollo Chocolatier (Jean-Pierre Dujon Lombard) and Sadaharu Aoki.

In addition, the award for best foreign chocolatier was given to Es-Koyama (Japan).

Founded in 1981, Club des Croqueurs de Chocolat is a group of 150 serious chocolate enthusiasts who meet regularly for tastings and other chocolate events.

The complete list of the Club’s selection of the best 142 chocolatiers in France for 2011 is posted on the L’Express Styles website.

Also held yesterday were the International Cocoa Awards, a joint initiative of Salon du Chocolat, CIRAD (French agricultural research centre) and Bioversity International.

The awards reward cocoa excellence in different regions.

This year’s ceremony saw 12 countries represented, with four Special Awards for overall quality going to Cameroon, Costa Rica, Ecuador and Malaysia.

Complete results for the 2011 International Cocoa Awards are available on the Cocoa of Excellence website.

Awards du Chocolat 2011
Photo: Salon du Chocolat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.